

JOURNAL of the PROCEEDINGS of the CITY COUNCIL

CITY OF CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA

Regular Meeting – Monday, January 7, 2019

at 7:25 P.M.

Council Chamber – City Hall – Charleston, West Virginia

OFFICIAL RECORD

Amy Shuler Goodwin Mayor

Miles C. Cary II
City Clerk

CALL TO ORDER

The Council met in the Chambers of the City Building at 7:25 P.M., for the second meeting in the month of January on the 7th day, in the year 2019, and was called to order. The invocation was delivered by Rabbi Victor Urecki and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by children in the audience.

This being the 2nd meeting of the month of January, 2019, the swearing in of the newly elected Mayor, City Council Members, Treasurer and Municipal Judge as well as City Manager, Chief of Police and City Solicitor of the City of Charleston shall convene.

The newly elected mayor, Amy Shuler Goodwin, came forward to be sworn in office by the United States District Judge for the Southern District of West Virginia, Joseph R. Goodwin. Amy Shuler Goodwin was declared the Mayor for the City of Charleston.

Mayor Goodwin took the podium and called for the newly elected Council members to please rise and be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. All members were declared Council for the City of Charleston.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 14 of the City Charter, the floor was declared open for nominations to fill the vacancy of the unexpired term for the Ward 18 Council Seat.

A motion was made by Councilmember Robinson to nominate William Laird. Councilmember Ceperley seconded the motion. With a majority of members elected recorded thereon as voting in the affirmative William Laid came forward to be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. William Laird was declared Councilmember for the 18th Ward.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 35 of the City Charter, the floor was declared open for nominations to the position of City Clerk. A motion was made by Councilmember Wesley-Plear to nominate Miles C. Cary II. Councilmember Faegre seconded the motion. With a majority of members elected recorded thereon as voting in the affirmative Miles C. Cary II came forward to be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. Miles C. Cary II was declared City Clerk.

Mayor Goodwin called for the newly elected Treasurer, Victor Grigoraci, to come forward and be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. Vic Grigoraci was declared the Treasurer for the City of Charleston.

Mayor Goodwin called for the newly elected Municipal Judge, Anne B. Charnock, to come forward and be sworn in office by West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals Justice Tim Armstead. Anne Charnock was declared the Municipal Judge for the City of Charleston.

Pursuant to Section 4 and 15 of the City Charter, the floor was declared open for nominations to the position of Council President Pro Tempore. A motion was made by Councilmember Hoover to nominate Councilmember Becky Ceperley. Councilmember Jenkins seconded the motion. With a majority of members elected recorded thereon as voting in the affirmative Councilmember Becky Ceperley was declared the Council President Pro Tempore.

Pursuant to Sections 5 and 35 of the City Charter, Mayor Goodwin recommended the appointment of Jonathan Storage as City Manager. Councilmember Ceperley motioned to approve. Councilmember Jenkins seconded the motion. With a majority of members elected recorded thereon as voting in the affirmative Jonathan Storage came forward to be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. Jonathan Storage was declared City Manager.

Pursuant to Sections 5 and 35 of the City Charter, Mayor Goodwin appointed Opie Smith as Chief of Police who came forward to be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. Opie Smith was declared Chief of Police.

Pursuant to Sections 5 and 35 of the City Charter, Mayor Goodwin appointed Kevin Baker as City Solicitor who came forward to be sworn in office by Judge Goodwin. Kevin Baker was declared City Solicitor.

APPOINTMENTS

1.

TO: Miles Cary, City Clerk

FROM: Amy Shuler Goodwin, Mayor

RE: City Council Standing Committee Appointments

DATE: January 7, 2019

I am appointing the Standing Committees as follows:

Finance Committee (also Parking Committee)

Joseph Jenkins - Chair; Bobby Reishman - Vice-Chair; Keeley Steele; Brent Burton; Mary Beth Hoover; Shannon Snodgrass; Will Laird

Planning/Streets and Traffic Committee

Mary Beth Hoover - Chair; Naomi Bays - Vice-Chair; Jennifer Pharr; Will Laird; Becky Ceperley; Adam Knauff; Chad Robinson

Ordinance & Rules Committee

Jeanine Faegre - Chair; Bobby Hass - Vice-Chair; Tiffany Wesley-Plear; Caitlin Cook; Keeley Steele; Courtney Persinger; Chuck Overstreet

Parks and Recreation Committee

Caitlin Cook - Chair; Chad Robinson - Vice-Chair; John Kennedy Bailey; Jeanine Faegre; Pat Jones; Deanna McKinney; Bruce King

Public Safety Committee

Keeley Steele - Chair; Chuck Overstreet - Vice-Chair; Joseph Jenkins; Becky Ceperley; Naomi Bays; Brady Campbell; Robert Sheets

Environment & Recycling Committee

John Kennedy Bailey - Chair; Bruce King - Vice-Chair; Pat Jones; Robert Sheets; Sam Minardi; Deanna McKinney; Bobby Haas

Facilities (Convention Center Committee)

Jennifer Pharr - Chair; Courtney Persinger - Vice-Chair; Adam Knauff; Ben Adams; Brady Campbell; Shannon Snodgrass; Sam Minardi

Urban Renewal (Economic Development Committee)

Brent Burton - Chair; Tiffany Wesley-Plear - Vice-Chair; Ben Adams; Jennifer Pharr; Caitlin Cook; Naomi Bays; Bobby Reishman

ASG/MLS

Received and Filed.

2.

TO: Miles Cary, City Clerk

FROM: Amy Shuler Goodwin, Mayor

RE: Charleston Urban Renewal Authority

DATE: January 7, 2019

I recommend that Tiffany Wesley Plear, 1326 Grant Street, Charleston, WV 25302 and E. Keeley Steele, 1600 Washington Street, CHarleston, WV 25311 be appointed to the Charleston Urban Renewal Authority, with their initial term to expire March 3, 2020. They are replacing Mary Jean Davis and Jack Harrison as the City Council Representatives on the Authority.

I respectfully request City Council's approval of this recommendation.

ASG/MLS

Councilmember Ceperley moved to approve the appointment. Councilmember Jenkins seconded that motion. By unanimous vote, the appointment was confirmed.

3.

TO: Miles Cary, City Clerk

FROM: Amy Shuler Goodwin, Mayor

RE: Municipal Planning Commission

DATE: January 7, 2019

I recommend that Mary Beth Hoover, 28 Ruffner Ave, #A, Charleston, WV 25311 be appointed to the Municipal Planning Commission as the City Council Representatives on the Commission.

I respectfully request City Council's approval of this recommendation.

ASG/MLS

Councilmember Ceperley moved to approve the appointment. Councilmember Jenkins seconded that motion. By unanimous vote, the appointment was confirmed.

| ADJOURNMENT |
|-------------|
|-------------|

Reverend Ron English gave the benediction.

The Clerk, Miles C. Cary II, called the closing roll call:

YEAS: Adams, Bailey, Bays, Burton, Campbell, Ceperley, Cook, Faegre, Haas, Hoover, Jenkins, Jones, King, Knauff, Laird, McKinney, Minardi, Overstreet, Persinger, Pharr, Reishman, Robinson Sheets, Snodgrass, Steele, Wesley-Plear, Mayor Goodwin

NAYS: NONE ABSENT: NONE

At 8:15 p.m., by a motion from Councilmember Ceperley, Council adjourned until Tuesday, January 22, 2019, at 7:00 p.m., in the Council Chamber in City Hall.

Amy Shuler Goodwin, Honorable Mayor

Miles C. Cary II, City Clerk