Charleston Urban Renewal Authority (CURA)

Ronald Butlin, Executive Director
815 Quarrier Street, Suite 244 
Charleston, WV 25301 
P: (304) 348-6890 
F: (304) 348-6892


Ronald Butlin, Executive Director
Karen Haddad, Secretary

The Charleston Urban Renewal Authority administers plans for five urban renewal areas. In these areas, the Authority oversees economic redevelopment efforts including infrastructure improvements, land use regulations and renovation or removal of blighted structures. The agency is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. Members are:

  • Andrew Jordan, Vice Chairperson
  • Karen Haddad, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Lew Tyree, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
  • Karan Ireland, Commissioner
  • Tom Hamm, Commissioner
  • Jack Harrison, Commissioner
  • Mary Jean Davis, Commissioner
  • Becky Ceperley, Commissioner

Board Meetings are on the second Wednesday of each month.